Complete Care Certificate (All Standards)

Care Management, Support Worker


The Care Certificate establishes the knowledge, skills, and behaviours expected of health and social care support workers and adult social care workers in England. Covering 15 standards in total, this course provides essential learning and development for those beginning their role in care and aims to enable staff to provide compassionate, safe, and high-quality care and support.

By undertaking the Care Certificate course, care workers gain an understanding of their duties and responsibilities. They learn to provide individuals with informed, person-centred care and to always uphold dignity and promote health and wellbeing. Communication, safeguarding, infection control, basic life support, and health and safety are just some of the crucial areas covered.

Completing the Care Certificate brings many benefits for healthcare professionals. It helps standardise the fundamental skills, values, and knowledge required to provide safe, compassionate care across the workforce. The learning can boost staff confidence, competence, and career development opportunities. Ultimately, it enables staff to carry out their vital roles effectively so that patients, service users, and residents can receive the best possible quality of care.

What you will learn

Here's a breakdown of what you'll learn from each of the standards covered in your course:

Standard 01: Know Your Role

  • Understand what you're supposed to do and what's not your job.
  • Keep things private and be professional.

Standard 02: Your Personal Growth

  • Find out what you're good at and what you want to improve.
  • Set goals to get better at your job and in your life.

Standard 03: Looking After Others

  • Understand your legal and moral duty to take care of people.
  • Know how to spot signs of someone not being looked after and what to do about it.

Standard 04: Fairness and Variety

  • Treat everyone equally and respect their differences.
  • Learn about how being unfair hurts people and communities.

Standard 05: Tailoring Care

  • Make sure the care you give fits the person you're helping.
  • Let people have a say in their own care and support.

Standard 06: Talking to People

  • Get better at talking to others, like the people you help, your co-workers, and other professionals.
  • Know why it's important to talk clearly and kindly when you're helping someone.

Standard 07: Respect and Privacy

  • Always treat people with respect and give them their space.
  • Keep their private stuff private and let them keep their dignity.

Standard 08: Keeping Hydrated and Fed

  • Understand why it's important for people to drink enough water and eat well.
  • Know what to look out for if someone's not getting enough to drink or eat.

Standard 09: Helping with Mental Health, Memory Problems, and Learning Disabilities

  • Learn about common mental health issues, memory problems like dementia, and learning disabilities.
  • Know how to support people who have these problems.

Standard 10: Protecting Grown-Ups

  • Know how to spot signs that a grown-up might be in danger and what to do about it.
  • Understand what you should do to protect people who might be at risk.

Standard 11: Keeping Children Safe

  • Understand what to do if you think a child is being hurt.
  • Learn about the rules to keep children safe and what you can do to help.

Standard 12: Basic Life-Saving Skills

  • Learn simple ways to save someone's life, like CPR and first aid.
  • Know what to do if there's an emergency.

Standard 13: Health and Safety

  • Understand the rules for staying safe at work.
  • Know how to spot dangers and make sure everyone's safe.

Standard 14: Dealing with Information

  • Learn about the rules for keeping people's private info safe.
  • Know how to keep sensitive stuff secure.

Standard 15: Stopping Germs from Spreading

  • Learn how to stop germs from making people sick.
  • Know what to do to keep things clean and hygienic.

What you require

  • This course is available to all learners, of all academic backgrounds.
  • Learners should be aged 16 or over to undertake the qualification.
  • Good understanding of English language, numeracy and ICT are required to attend this course.